Indulging in alcoholic beverages can be the perfect way to round off an enjoyable evening. But you should always exercise extreme caution. Driving under the influence is illegal and can have serious consequences — not to mention be incredibly dangerous. Here are some of the consequences you can expect if you’re caught driving under the influence in Connecticut.
If you’re convicted of a DUI in Connecticut, you’ll be forced to pay fines of $500 to $1,000 for a first-time offense. And it only gets worse from there – the more convictions you have, the bigger your fine. Sometimes, you may even need to spend a few days in jail.
Mandatory substance abuse classes
In addition to paying fines, you may also have to attend mandatory substance abuse classes. Nothing says “party’s over,” like being forced to sit through a course on the dangers of alcohol.
A DUI conviction can also lead to a criminal record. That means you might have trouble getting a job or participating in certain activities. It could even impact your ability to rent an apartment or travel outside the United States. Also, your license could be revoked if you’re a professional, such as a doctor, lawyer, or teacher.
Loss of driving privileges
Finally, a DUI conviction can also result in losing your driving privileges. This means you won’t be able to get behind the wheel for some time — usually a year or more. If caught driving during this time, you could face serious legal consequences.
So, the next time you’re out and about and decide to have a few drinks, always remember that driving under the influence is never worth the risk. And if you find yourself in a situation where you need a ride home, then don’t hesitate to call for help.